You are here

FYE Writing Awards

The Writing Center is pleased to announce the 2018-2019 First-Year Experience Writing Awards competition.

We are now calling for first-year students to submit their exemplary FYE papers for consideration. From these submissions, four winners and four honorable mentions will be selected by a committee of faculty and staff. These winners will receive campus-wide recognition as well as a cash prize for their achievements. In addition, winning papers will also be available to all Trinity faculty and FYE staff for use as model papers in future classes. Winners will receive $200 gift cards. Honorable mentions will receive $50 gift cards.

Because we are aware of the exciting variety of writing assignments in the FYE, we accept all types of papers on any subject. To this end, the committee may consider diversity of form and subject matter in selecting the winning portfolio.

Submission Guidelines:

  1. Papers must have been written for one of the FYE Courses during the Fall 2018 semester. Students are welcome to edit their work before submission.
  2. In addition to providing your name and contact information with your paper submission, please note the name of the course, the instructor, and a brief explanation of the assignment.
  3. Papers may by any length, but they must be submitted as a Word document (not a Google Doc or PDF, etc.). No exceptions.
  4. Only one entry per student is eligible for submission. Please email entries to writingcenter [at]

The submission deadline is February 15, 2019.

We are pleased to announce the FYE Writing Awards for 2018-2019.


Thao Dinh, "RACE (THE UNIVERSE): A Collection of Short Stories" (Creative Genius)

Chet Fagerstrom, "The Efficacy of the National Flood Insurance Program" (What You Know)

Ryan Figart, "Black Panther's Killmonger as the Incarnation of Black Liberation Ideologies" (Social Justice)

Nancy Wilkinson, "Value-based Pricing for CAR T-Cell Therapy" (What You Know)



Anthony Tresca, "Heard, but Not Seen" (Science Fiction)

Audrey Wood, "Authoring Legitimacy: On the Nature of Authenticity in Man in the High Castle" (Science Fiction)

Winners and honorable mentions were chosen from a pool of over 150 outstanding entries. We would like to extend our gratitude to all students who submitted as well as to the faculty who encouraged them.

This awards series is made possible by the generous support of the First-Year Experience Program.