You are here

Hemlock Award

Each spring, in recognition of outstanding philosophical achievement and in honor of our former colleague, John Murphy, the Department of Philosophy hosts the Hemlock Award competition for best philosophical essay.

Annual Hemlock Award for Best Philosophical Essay

2018 Winners

1st Place - Carlos Coronado
"Heraclitus’ Doctrine of Change & its Two Aspects: Material Instances and the Process of Change"

2nd Place - Mary Herring
"Rationality, Desire, and the Good Life: The Role of Rationality in Aristotelian Psychology and Ethics"

2017 Winners

1st Place - Daniel Conrad
"The Compatibility of Artworks and Games"

2nd Place - Katie Jones
"Marx and Justice"

2016 Co-Winners

Le Quyen Pham
“Ways the World Could Have Been”

Austen Hall
“Defending the Humean Supervenience Thesis of Laws of Nature”

2015 Winners

1st Place - Mason Stark
"Fiction and Knowledge: Can We Learn From Literature"

2nd Place - Sam Taylor
"A Revolution in Art: DJs and Dancers in Electronic Dance Music"

Thank you to all who submitted essays for this year's Hemlock essay competition!

Essay submissions are customarily selected by department members from student essays received in class. However, the contest is open to any Trinity student who wishes to submit a philosophical essay.

To be considered, the Department of Philosophy must receive your essay by the date specified early in the spring term. The winner(s) will be announced at the annual Honors Awards Convocation held during Spring Family Weekend.

Please contact the Department of Philosophy; Ext. 8305, if you have further questions. We encourage you to enter this contest, and look forward to receiving your essay.

2014 Winners

1st Place - Austen Hall
2nd Place - Evan Snow

2013 Winners

1st Place - Michael Garatoni
2nd Place - Samuel Elder

2012 Winners

1st Place - Michael Garatoni
2nd Place - Mellissa Delcont

2011 Winner

Aleksey Balotskiy

2010 Winners

1st Place - David Mathisen
2nd Place - Sarah Stec

2009 Winner

Kerry Vaughan

2008 Winner

Casey Strickland

2007 Winner

Austin Johnston

2006 Winner

Adam Masters

2005 Winner

Jonathan Frost

The Department of Philosophy wishes to thank Mrs. Kathy L. Schnare for the generous donations which make possible the gifts awarded to the Hemlock essay competition winners.