You are here

MLK Program

Trinity University will honor the late Martin Luther King Jr. with a public lecture and participation in a San Antonio march commemorating the slain civil rights leader. The University and the City of San Antonio MLK Jr. Commission's annual MLK Jr. Commemorative Lecture will feature Dr. Marc Lamont Hill as the keynote speaker at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, January 12, 2017 in Laurie Auditorium on the Trinity University campus.

Dr. Marc Lamont Hill's speech is titled "From Segregation to Social Justice: What Would Martin Say?" Dr. Marc Lamont Hill is one of the leading intellectual voices in the country. He is currently the host of BET News and VH1 Live, as well as a political contributor for CNN. An award-winning journalist, Dr. Hill has received numerous prestigious awards from the National Association of Black Journalists, GLAAD, and the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Dr. Hill is Distinguished Professor of African American Studies at Morehouse College. Prior to that, he held positions at Columbia University and Temple University.

The lecture is FREE and open to the public. For more information on this lecture, please contact Student Involvement at 210-999-7547.

Participate in the San Antonio MLK Jr March

Monday, January 16, 2017, meet at the IM field next to the Bell Center at 8:30 a.m. to board buses. Free shirts will be given to the first 200 people.

Help Trinity maintain its reputation as having the largest university/college representation at the march! Bring cash for food and wear comfortable shoes.

Schedule of Events

January 11
Super Nacho Hour, 3:33 p.m. – Coats University Center Lobby

January 12
MLK Jr. Lecture, 7:30 p.m. – Laurie Auditorium

January 13
Freedom Friday, 12:30 p.m. – Updstairs Coates
Co-sponsored by BSU

January 15
"Crash" & Poster Making, 8 p.m. – Fiesta Room

January 16
San Antonio MLK Jr. March, 8:30 a.m. – Bell Center

January 17
Service: Boys & Girls Club, 4 p.m. – Contact SI for details
Co-sponsored by TUVAC

Previous Lectures

2016 - Dr. Freeman Hrabowski
2015 - Tim Wise
2014 - Dr. Julianne Malveaux
2013 - Boyce Watkins
2012 - Ilyasah Shabazz
2011 - Marc Lamont Hill
2010 - Angela Davis
2009 - L. Douglas Wilder
2008 - Nikki Giovanni
2007 - Chuck D
2006 - Randall Kennedy
2005 - Minnijean Brown-Trickey, Rev. Claude Black, & Diane Nash
2004 - Thomas W. Dortch
2003 - Bernice King
2002 - A' Leila Bundles
2001 - Johnetta Cole
2000 - Derrick Bell
1999 - William H. Gray
1998 - Julian Bond
1997 - Clarence Page