Coronavirus Updates: The latest information on the global pandemic and campus operations.  COVID-19 Website


You are here

Beckman Scholars Program

Trinity University is fortunate to have received a grant from the Arnold & Mabel Beckman Foundation for the Beckman Scholars Program. The program stimulates, encourages, and supports research activities by exceptionally talented, full-timed undergraduate students. These students perform research with a Beckman Mentor for an extended period of time (2 summers and one academic year, continuously), and they are expected to develop as leaders. This is a highly prestigious award for any aspiring scientist.

Our recent Beckman Scholars include Taylor Devlin ('18), Christian Schreib ('18), Zoheb Hirani ('19), Camille Potts ('19), and Madeline Hopps ('20).  These outstanding individuals have given a total of 17 conference presentations, and all of them have been first author or coauthor on peer-reviewed publications.  So far, four have been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, two were inducted into the ASBMB honor society, two received honorable mentions for the NSF Graduate Fellowship, and one was a Barry Goldwater Scholar.  Four were leaders of their student chemistry or ASBMB clubs.  Three are currently pursuing their PhD, and the other two plan to apply this year to graduate school and medical school.  We are exceptionally proud of our Beckman Scholars!

If you have any questions about this program at Trinity University, please contact aurbach [at] (subject: Beckman%20Scholars%20Program) (Adam Urbach).